Region: All
Content Types: Report
Date: Nov, 2023

OWI Global Awards Main


An enormous congratulations to the OWI Global Awards 2023 winners who were crowned in Aberdeen last week during a night filled with fun, food and festivities, where the offshore well intervention community gathered to cap the year of with a bang!

At the annual celebration, a panel of expert judges acknowledged the very best in global well intervention excellence and were tasked with picking out the best from a competitive field of submissions. However, for going above and beyond, there were some who stood out slightly higher from the crowd and were recognised for their achievements.

OWI Awards

The winners for 2023 included:

Intervention Champion of the Year: Expro, for taking the crown after celebrating 40 years of its Subsea Test Tree Assemblies operations, delivering more than 3,000 deployments in subsea Exploration and Appraisal completion and intervention applications, and expanding its capabilities to offer a complete subsea well access portfolio!

Energy Transition Pioneer of the Year: Expro, for pioneering to the top with its 50-year legacy supporting the UK oil and gas industry and, last year, investing more than 50% of its development budget into lowering clients’ carbon emissions!

Best Example of Diversity and Inclusion: TechnipFMC, after being names one of the World’s Top 400 Female-Friendly Companies by Forbes and participating in a full roster of events aimed at supporting inclusion in every form!

Best Example of Subsea Intervention: Welltec, after demonstrating huge success with its ultra-slim e-line intervention tools last year!

Best Example of Platform Intervention: 3M, for its impressive achievement in helping to deliver successful sand control remediation through coil tubing deployment to allow the asset to achieve production goals!

Best Example of Downhole Innovation: DarkVision, claiming the top spot for its HADES downhole inspection platform that provides a comprehensive evaluation of the entire well in 3D in a single pass!

Market Intelligence Platform of the Year: Energy Industries Council, as one of the world’s largest energy trade associations for companies to supply goods and services to energy industries worldwide since 1943!

Best Project Outcome: TechnipFMC, securing the accolade with its successful RWLI campaign in ultra-deepwater Angola which included water shut-off and acid stimulation operations for three wells in just 27 days!

Best Example of Collaboration: WellBarrier – a SLB technology & Equinor. The WellBarrier solution was successfully deployed at scale across Equinor’s organisation in support of replacing manual tasks with digital solutions. This solution is estimated to have engineering effort savings of around 10,000 hours during the first year.

Best Example of Digital Innovation: Evoilve, for the excellent work that has come from Evoilve’s COLLABWELLS Well Integrity Management software which has ushered in a new era of efficiency, collaboration and automation within the oil and gas industry.

Best Example of Well Integrity Innovation: EV, prevailing as champion through its award-winning innovation that is the world’s only integrated array video and phased array ultrasound scanning tool.

Best Example of Decom Innovation: Oceaneering, which took home the crown for designing, building and operating an ROV-based annular access methodology based on multi-string hot tapping to mitigate against annular gas and avoid HSE risk in a wellhead severance campaign for a major operator in Southeast Asia.

OWI Global Awards: Significant Contribution to the Industry: Jørgen Hallundbæk, accepted by Cristian Kruger. After our community bid a sad farewell to an individual who has contributed so much towards its progression, the final iteration of this award was presented to Jørgen Hallundbæk, a worthy winner whose legacy will continue to shine through his formidable work and family and friends. To honour his impact, this year saw the first presentation of the ‘Jørgen Hallundbæk Lifetime Achievement’ award which will continue to honour visionaries within the industry.

Jørgen Hallundbæk Lifetime Achievement: Tom Brighton, claiming the prestigious accolade for his 37 years of service and dedication. With an unrivalled portfolio, Tom Brighton has imparted the best practice methods and increased operation standards to the well discipline across the globe and was a worthy winner of the new award!

Thank you to everyone for attending and we look forward to another year of seeing our network push the boundaries of engineering excellence and driving the wider offshore community forward!

OWI Awards 2023